Question about water quality (and bubbles on pond) stats and pics includsd

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hey guys! Have a question about my water quality. Pond is old (10ish years) but never had fish in it. About 500 gallons. Moved in last year and put 8 feeder goldfish in it and to my surprise have not lost a fish. This year I decided to put 2 shabukins to add a little variety and they all seem to be loving life. APM kit has following readings 8.2 pH (stays stable), 0 ammonia, 0 nitrites, 0 nitrates. I've been testing weekly for the past 2 months and all have stayed stable. I admittedly did not test once last year. Water is Crystal clear and can see to bottom.
20170530_200324.jpg
20170530_200324.jpg

So I've been wondering if my pond is not cycling properly considering I have 0 nitrates. I have a ton of plants in (pic 1 is hornwort overgrowth but pic 2 is after I thinned the heard today). Is that what's keeping the nitrates at 0? I also beat the heck out of #2 nitrate after reading that could alter the reading but still the same.

Second question is the bubbles. They do not accumulate and will pop but I've heard that a pond with good water quality should not have bubbles. I do have two air stones directly under the waterfall that could be spreading the bubbles out? There's no muck in the bottom of the pond and maybe just a few leaves.

Thanks in advance for anyone who replies!!

Attachments

• 20170604_161927.jpg
    20170604_161927.jpg
    246.9 KB · Views: 266

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
Why do you think it should not have bubbles as mine always has had bubbles from the aerator and filter outlets
101_0808.JPG
101_0736.JPG

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6 A
Country
United States
jezmund, I think your pond looks great, you've got good water quality and the bubbles don't look like DOC bubbles ( dissolved organic compounds ) to me. Enjoy your pond, but don't add more fish, as yours will reproduce :)