Question about winterized dry root Taro and Geraiums

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
This is my first time trying to save Taro and Geraniums.
Last Fall I pulled them, cleaned them and allowed to dry out, then I stored them in boxes
I checked them yesterday, they are still alive!
The Taro is still nice and hard, the Geraniums have most brown branches, a few branches on each are green with miniature leaves...it will be at least 6 more weeks before we can set up our Greenhouse do you guys think these plants can wait that long or should I pot them and put them by a window now?

How do you handle your Taro to re grow it, do you put the bulb in water or plant it in dirt?

Thank you in advance for any tips you might have :)

Last edited:
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6 A
Country
United States
When I wintered taro, I planted it when it was able to live outside. I still have some that come up every year, in the ground, which is pretty surprising !

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
lucky you, Tula, it is way to cold here, I can't put Taro in the pond until June and there is no way this root will last that long in the box

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6 A
Country
United States
lucky you, Tula, it is way to cold here, I can't put Taro in the pond until June and there is no way this root will last that long in the box
I have no idea why the ones in the g round keep coming back, as they shouldn't for my zone. The ones I used to over winter and plant in pots, I placed in vermiculate filled paper bags.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
I have no idea why the ones in the g round keep coming back, as they shouldn't for my zone. The ones I used to over winter and plant in pots, I placed in vermiculate filled paper bags.
Did you place them in water at some point before Spring,?

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States