Question on lift pump

Reaction score
Hello everyone, I know this isn't directly pond related but I thought this community might be able to help me with a question/issue I have regarding a small lift pump.

I have a very bad drainage problem in my yard because my neighbor behind me is roughly 3 feet higher than my yard. He's planted rye grass and water is literally seeping to the surface of my yard. I want to install a "tile line" for drainage and connect it to the drain that runs out to street in front of my home.

The problem is that I will need to lift the water roughly 1 foot to reach the existing drain line from my back to front yard. Could this problem be solved with a low volume solar lift pump with an automatic on/off for when the lines are dry?

Again, I know this isn't pond related but I would greatly appreciate any advice that people could give me since I know very little about landscaping and small volume pumps (but I'm a farmer so I'm capable of DIY and understand large scale concepts.)

Meyer Jordan

Tadpole
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
Welcome! My first reaction is that since the water is coming from your neighbors yard, it is their legal responsibility to mitigate this run-off. Check with the appropriate local governmental agency.
If the amount of water is significant, a solar pump is not going to move this water fast enough plus they are only good when the sun is shining. Not going to help much in an extended rain event.
Very easy to build a simple wet well with a standard sump pump using an on-off float valve.

Reaction score
Desoto, Texas (Dallas County) North Texas, Zone 8a
Showcase(s):
Welcome! My first reaction is that since the water is coming from your neighbors yard, it is their legal responsibility to mitigate this run-off. Check with the appropriate local governmental agency...........