Questions from a First Time Ponder

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello everyone! Very happy to have found this forum. I recently bought a home in the Pacific Northwest with a spacious but rather empty yard and I am exploring the possibility of creating a pond as one of the garden elements. After researching many options, and for reasons of cost, topography, and practicality, I am leaning towards burying a ~100 gallon plastic stock tank and using it primarily to experiment with growing water plants, perhaps eventually adding a few small fish. I am particularly drawn to the dimensions of this round 4 foot wide 2 foot deep stock tank (https://www.ntotank.com/120gallon-acerotomold-green-stock-tank-x2390875), or I might go the oval Rubbermaid route.

As this is my first time with any type of water gardening, I'm eager to learn and avoid mistakes and I would greatly appreciate any feedback and tips. Here are my specific questions:

1) SIZE/COLOR CONTAINER
The stock tank I am most drawn to is green. It seems most people use black tanks, and the Behlen tanks are blue. Does anyone know of any issues using green/blue tanks rather than black? Would it give the water an unattractive hue?
Likewise, does anyone see any problems with burying a ~100 gallon stock tank, or have any recommendations about size? We have a very sunny and open yard (future plantings will provide some shade), and I'm worried that something in the 30 to 60 gallon range would heat up too much and grow algae too quickly, as well as limiting our options for planting.

2) PUMPS/FILTERS