rain water and dead fish?

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello fellow pond mates,

I am fairly new to keeping a proper pond. I do have experience with aquariums.

I really need some insight on what is happening to my pond.

I decided to make a 40 gallon pond outside (filter, floating plants, airstones, etc...) since the start of April. Just couple weeks later I bought four goldfish. They were doing fine for a week and then it rained. My pond sits right under the gutter of my house roof, so some rain water drips into the pond when it rains. But I noticed that after it rained, my goldfish all were gasping for air and they had what it seemed to be a thick white slime coat covering their bodies and eyes.
I was able to speed up my nitrogen cycle because of using filter floss that was in my aquarium filters. I have been testing the ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate and all are zero with nitrate being around 2-3 ppm. I did not test PH. Which will be my next thing to do.

The goldfishes died shortly after that and I assumed maybe they were just stressed from encountering water tapping the surface of their water constantly. my water readings were still reading good. Therefore I got four more goldfish. And WHALLAH it rained the next week and the same thing happened.

This leads me to think that something about the rain is causing my fish to die.
- loss of electrolytes due to rain having little nutrients in it therefore the chemical balance in my fish were causing them to slime up a coat.
- rain water acid
- harmful metal from gutter (although I did have a 20 gallon bucket for 2 years with minnows and the rain from the gutter never seemed to affect them).

If anyone knows or can point me a direction to a solution please let me know. I have built an acrylic glass that sits 2.5 feet above my pond now to redirect the falling rain and not into my pond. But I do not want to keep buying fish to test these theories.

Thank you, Douglas

Reaction score