raised pond

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
i want to make a raised pond with rail way sleepers,I want it L shaped with seating built in.How can i tile the inside,do i have to line it and with what.cheers for your help,i'm a complete novice at this so all advice welcome

Reaction score
Desoto, Texas (Dallas County) North Texas, Zone 8a
Showcase(s):
Railway sleepers may be ideal or may contain a preservative that leeches. You can easy check that with your railway tie source. Yes, you will need a liner. Perforably a 43mil thick EDPM liner. Building a raise pond as you described is certainly doable. Careful, detailed planning, preparation and proper construction will be the keys to your success. Welcome the the forum Chris. We are here to help.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Welcome, Chris! Using a traditional, flat liner, L-shaped ponds are woefully hard to do without seaming or buying twice as much liner as is needed. Unless one of the legs of the L will be raised up above water level (ie, a separate pond area) and joining with a waterfall. There are some places where you can get pre-shaped, L-shaped liners that you can drop in, but they are expensive and your measurements have to be exact.

I believe @C-Note has an L shaped pond -- she has a showcase with some details here: https://www.gardenpondforum.com/showcase/carries-new-pond.37/ Carrie, I hope it's ok that I mentioned you here =D Your L-shaped pond is fresh in my brain because, well, I love it so!!!!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United Kingdom
i want to make a raised pond with rail way sleepers,I want it L shaped with seating built in.How can i tile the inside,do i have to line it and with what.cheers for your help,i'm a complete novice at this so all advice welcome
Hi Chris what ever you do dont buy former BR sleepers they are treated with all sorts of nasty stuff that leaches out.
Your best bet would be to buy sleepers imported to the UK from abroad .