Raised pond?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, I’m a complete newbie to ponds so looking for a bit of advice before I actually spend any money
I promised my daughter (18 with special needs) that I’d make her a fish pond a couple of years ago. Unfortunately I’ve been hit by disability and the process of digging and building a pond seems impossible, so I’ve been looking at raised ponds.
I like the blagdon affinity ponds as I think my daughter will enjoy the windows, but are they any good?
Im worried about winter ( I’m in Staffordshire, uk) will fish survive or are the raised ponds to exposed? We are only wanting a few goldfish or shubunkins, nothing fancy and I’d like some plants but I don’t want to buy something unsuitable for fish.
I’m considering the blagdon affinity octagon, it’s 400 litres.
Any advice is gratefully received!

Reaction score
Country
United States
Welcome to the forum! I looked up the Blagdon Affinity. Wonder what kind of filtration systems are part of that kit. Looks like a cool setup! Sounds like it rarely snows or gets below freezing in that part of the world. My guess would be that fish should be ok in such a setup but definitely wait for other, more experienced, ponders to weigh in before you make a decision. Your local pond/fish store may be a good resource also.

Reaction score
Country
United States
The Blagdon Affinity is a flexible clear liner supported on a very interesting frame. I love the side windows. My fear would be that a leak could be sudden and catastrophic in that situation. Metal or heavy plastic water troughs would be more secure... but no groovy side windows.

I wonder if the manufacturer recommends that the windows face North (in the Northern hemispehere). I know direct sunlight coming into the water column from the side can really increase the algae load. I suppose they could also be covered when nobody is viewing the fish.

Last edited:

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a