Recap

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
Spain
Hello, I was about to post in the illness and disease sub but I thought better start here providing a bit of info on how I got till here.
I moved in September to a new house, has a garden and there was the abandoned pond.
It was filled about half capacity with a dark black water and had been abandoned for years. Being worried about having a body of water and attracting mosquitoes (leishmaniasis) I emptied and cleaned it. Fast forward a few weeks later I got the knack of starting back the pond, been an absolute beginner I got myself to YouTube and some online info and started my journey.

The pond is composed of two separate small ponds connected trough a small "tunnel". Since it has a irregular form I don't know the exact capacity it holds, I think it may be around the 1000lt mark.
I built up a DIY filter out of some online guides, one day I may do a separate post about it. It's composed of coarse foam,hard green kitchen sponge, softer sponge, filter wool, volcanic gravel and for media I have 1kg of ceramic cylinder, a bunch of small PVC corrugated pipe and those plastic balls with sponge inside. Not gonna lie, had to rearrange it a few times till it started filtering water properly. Main issue was water entering at the top and coming out from the bottom so I reverted the flow, now water comes from the bottom and once it reaches the upper part with the media it goes out. I use a 1500lt/h pump btw.

I went to my local shop to get some bacteria for starting out and I got the ones that come in powder, i think that was an issue, I'll explain.
I got 8 shubunkin and 7 comets, one of the shubunkin has some wound or illness wich I'll explain on the proper post.