Reconstructing/revamping shelves 17 year old pond + plants? (newbie)

Reaction score
Country
United States
Long story short, my newbie self has taken apart his pond while searching for location of a leak. Pond is intending to only be plants/no fish. Zone 5a. There were some seemingly aquatic plants in the river bed spillway/stairs, but I think a previous owner was tired of plants and decided to stack rocks on shelves instead? Considering removing skimmer area as very very rarely has debris, old, and still a sore subject for leaks. No other filtration/UV setup. The pond is now open to a bit of a revamp. As you can see, we inherited a pond with large rock shelves. The liner runs to the bottom of the top most rocks area which were eaten by earth. We have tons of snakes/frogs/birds/ducks/etc which come.

There is no rhyme or reason I hear for pond shelves/look, but I am an open newbie book to suggestions. Below are a ton of pictures to glance at, with actual questions at the bottom of post.

Picture of the pond early spring, minus greenage. This is/was a guess at the water line as i wasn't sure until recently how high the liner was.
The skimmer box area I'm considering removing entirely on bottom (concerns about type of skimmer(savio) and not setup for a silicone seal, worried about it leaking and want to not mess with it once done. Plan was to remove skimmer area, extend liner into the area. May need to make it deep enough to prop pump off bottom...?
IMG_9685.JPG

Aerial shot from when we purchased the house. Water enters from the pool on the right, follows a river bed under the bridge, down into the main pond.
pond1.png

A thick rock shelf area before the right turn to bridge/river. Obviously pond empty prior to the spring fill up.
IMG_9673.JPG

More current foilage shot - but still don't know what all the plants are! ha.
IMG_0126.JPG

Pond came with this pump.
IMG_0301.JPG

Early spring before filling it - how rocks were layered.
IMG_9671.JPG