replacement camera


mrsclem

mrsclem
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
5,194
Reaction score
4,665
Location
st. mary's county, md.
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00EKKR8EC/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
So, my Aquascape camera finally failed. It has a 60' cord and the insulation is a tape wrap. The whole 60' failed and the camera has stopped working. I found this camera on Amazon. I'm taking a chance as the company admits they get the cameras from elsewhere and then redo them. They have a R68 rating so should be good for long term use. We will see. Camera is extremely heavy so will have to glue pvc fittings that are used to hold camera. It has a dimmer switch for the leds. Thats going to require additional weather protection. Will post updates as I get it installed, which may be a few days. Back and shoulder both out this morning. Should never have picked up that mop!
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Oct 28, 2013
Messages
12,381
Reaction score
12,605
Location
Northern IL
Showcase(s):
1
I'll eagerly await your report! We almost bought the Aquascape cameras and then they pulled them off the market - I think lots of problems like you described. So we're still looking! It's something I definitely plan to add one of these days!
 

mrsclem

mrsclem
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
5,194
Reaction score
4,665
Location
st. mary's county, md.
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
I have the new camera in the same holder I used for the other camera- 2"pvc with 1"T. This has a 24" pole that I use to hang the camera over the side of the pond. I sealed the dimmer control and BNC & power cable inside a container that is used to house electrical connections outdoors. It powered right up.
005.JPG
006.JPG
007.JPG
 
Ad

Advertisements

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Moderator
Donor
Joined
Jun 23, 2010
Messages
43,392
Reaction score
27,951
Location
Frederick, Maryland
Showcase(s):
1
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
lol I bit the bullet and ordered one! Didn't wait to hear how yours worked. Glad it worked as advertised!
I like the thought of no dvr running and it just feeding to a TV screen. I will get our little tv set up for it and have a constant view again. Biggest issue I have is the length of wires I need to run to the pond to feed something in the house.
 

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Moderator
Donor
Joined
Jun 23, 2010
Messages
43,392
Reaction score
27,951
Location
Frederick, Maryland
Showcase(s):
1
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
I might do that, but might just put it on a screen. I have 4 cams I need to go and tweak the lines, even with the lines in pvc I think a critter did some munching, they went black.

I have a older q-see that I can dedicate to the pond view. Or fed right into a dedicated TV. It will be a project, next week, maybe.

Yeah 100-150 feet of cable.
 

mrsclem

mrsclem
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
5,194
Reaction score
4,665
Location
st. mary's county, md.
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
Cables seem to hold up well if not messed with. Some of ours are 4 years old. Once you start unplugging them, the connections start to fail.
 

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Moderator
Donor
Joined
Jun 23, 2010
Messages
43,392
Reaction score
27,951
Location
Frederick, Maryland
Showcase(s):
1
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Cables seem to hold up well if not messed with. Some of ours are 4 years old. Once you start unplugging them, the connections start to fail.
I usually run them and ignore, these cams just quit. I have replace the cameras, but no good. I have not had the time to run new cables. On my list!

Sometimes the BNC connectors get dirty, wet, whatever and I can get the working again by cleaning. I have also rebent them so the grab better. I keep debating getting the ethernet cams. But I have a lot of money tied up in the system, cams, ptz cams etc.
 
Ad

Advertisements

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Moderator
Donor
Joined
Jun 23, 2010
Messages
43,392
Reaction score
27,951
Location
Frederick, Maryland
Showcase(s):
1
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Well my cam came. It is great. I have it stuck in the 1000 gallon pond, the fish don't hang around the cam a lot. I need to position it a bit differently.

I filmed it off the tv screen.

 

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Moderator
Donor
Joined
Jun 23, 2010
Messages
43,392
Reaction score
27,951
Location
Frederick, Maryland
Showcase(s):
1
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Thanks jw- planning on leaving them in all winter so I can watch the babies grow.
I have the lights turned off, or at least way down, see if that keeps the algae from growing on the lens as much.
 
Ad

Advertisements

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
31,395
Reaction score
19,159
Location
Arlington, Washington
Showcase(s):
1
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
@Lisak1 I was hooked up to be able to view her Q-see cams all around her property but something went haywire recently so @addy1 is trying to figure it out so I can watch again. Will be neat being able to see the underwater ones if we can fix it.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Oct 28, 2013
Messages
12,381
Reaction score
12,605
Location
Northern IL
Showcase(s):
1
What a fun idea! Years ago (back in the early days of the internet) we found a site called Pete's Pond. Someone had set up a camera in Africa near a pond that attracted all kinds of wildlife - everything from elephants to zebras to lions to things I had never heard of before. We spent so many hours just staring at the screen - very relaxing! We also tune in to see the manatees when they are inland in Tampa Bay. Tampa Bay Electric has live cams trained on the water that you can control over the internet - very fun! We've visited there a few times so it's fun to see our "friends" the manatees!
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top