Replacing pump in Savio setup

Joined
Oct 7, 2019
Messages
9
Reaction score
8
Country
United States
I purchased a new home with a Koi Pond 2 years ago and have been learning ever since. After installing the UV clarifier it has been relatively smooth.

Until today... This morning my pond pump started tripping the GFCI outlet outside. It will work for a few minutes after reset but then go out again. After researching it looks likely that my pump needs to be replaced. It looks to be PVC glued though so I'm stuck with how to safely change this pump without damaging anything else. I have attached pics to show the connection. Any thoughts or ideas from the experts would be appreciated
IMG_20191007_154149.jpg
IMG_20191007_154142.jpg
 
Ad

Advertisements

mrsclem

mrsclem
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
3,189
Reaction score
2,768
Location
st. mary's county, md.
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
Have you checked to see if the pump is possibly plugged somewhere? If you need to replace it, I would cut as close to that elbow on the top. Is the flex pvc pipe glued into the filter? Looks like the ground outside the filter is wet.
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2019
Messages
9
Reaction score
8
Country
United States
So I thought that a clog might be the case but I wouldn't know exactly how to check. The water is moving through and coming down the waterfall when it's plugged in before tripping the breaker so it doesn't seem clogged. If there is another way I can check I'm all ears, just not sure being that I can't really move the pump.

I figured the pvc needed to be cut so I will get as close to elbow of possible if I need to replace. I'm thinking of using a Dremel. Are there tools specifically designed for this or is there something you would recommend for the cut?

Regarding the ground being wet this is something I have noticed since moving in. At first I thought it was too much water in the pond but it always seems to be damp in that area where the pump connects. It doesn't get worse then that little spot so not sure how serious that is. Could this be a sign of a clog or a poor connection or both? Thanks for your input.
 

mrsclem

mrsclem
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
3,189
Reaction score
2,768
Location
st. mary's county, md.
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
I would use a hack saw to cut the flex pc. The wet area leads me to believe that where the pipe comes thru the filter wall is not sealed and water is leaking out. You can try plugging the pump into another outlet and see if you still have a problem before you cut the pipe. Problem may be outlet and not pump.
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2013
Messages
8,560
Reaction score
9,239
Location
Northern IL
We used a Saws-All (I think that's what it's called) to cut flex PVC. That stinks that they glued it in, but this is your chance to re-do it so the pump can be removed. Pond pumps should be easy to remove for several reasons - this being one of them. You could use a screw on connection or a slide on - the name of which also escapes me right now! Like stiff rubber... but no gluing necessary. Someone will help me out here!

The good news is it looks like you have some room to work in the filter box. As you mentioned, cut as close to the elbow as possible to leave yourself a good bit of flex PVC to work with.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Sep 14, 2013
Messages
4,494
Reaction score
3,491
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio
Hardiness Zone
6 A
Country
United States
I agree with above advice :) We have the same Savio set up and use some type of connector ( quick connect, union ? ) with threads that we can unthread easily to remove the pump. I will take a picture and post later today.
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2019
Messages
9
Reaction score
8
Country
United States
MrsClem, I did connect the pump to an extension cord to test and it also tripped the breaker after about five minutes. This is why I'm assuming it's the pump going out. Thanks for the heads up on the leak, I will also look into that.

Lisak1, Ah yes, a reciprocating saw is a good idea as well, that will probably be what I use. Regarding the flex pvc still glued on after I cut at the elbow, is there an easy way to get the glued part to come off? Or am I just cutting and chiseling that as well to remove it? I'm guessing the idea is to remove all pvc for new connections right?
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2019
Messages
9
Reaction score
8
Country
United States
I agree with above advice :) We have the same Savio set up and use some type of connector ( quick connect, union ? ) with threads that we can unthread easily to remove the pump. I will take a picture and post later today.
Thank you! That would be super helpful!
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2013
Messages
8,560
Reaction score
9,239
Location
Northern IL
I would make all new connections. PVC parts are cheap. We've spent many happy hours standing in the plumbing aisle of the local big box store contemplating our choices. Our store employees a retired plumber who is always extremely helpful with suggestions.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Oct 7, 2019
Messages
9
Reaction score
8
Country
United States
Okay done! Used hacksaw to cut at the elbow and chiseled off glued-on portion, hopefully not too damaged in the process. I have attached a pic of my pump. Anyone have experience with this brand and/or recommend a good replacement?

Also, how long can my Koi fish go without circulation? Do I have time to order online and save $$ or should I run down to the local pond guy and buy one right away?
IMG_20191008_152636.jpg
IMG_20191008_152144.jpg
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2013
Messages
8,560
Reaction score
9,239
Location
Northern IL
I'd ask the local guy to match (or at least come close) to what you can get a pump for online.

As for how long you can go without a pump - a lot depends on how big of a pond, how many fish, how big they are, how hot it is... Some people shut their ponds down all winter. Do you have an aerator running?
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2019
Messages
9
Reaction score
8
Country
United States
I'd ask the local guy to match (or at least come close) to what you can get a pump for online.

As for how long you can go without a pump - a lot depends on how big of a pond, how many fish, how big they are, how hot it is... Some people shut their ponds down all winter. Do you have an aerator running?
No aerator, I have three big Koi from what I'm measured it's roughly 700 gallons. I live in NM so it's cool in the evening, warm in the day this time of year. I'm going to get one locally so I can install ASAP. It has already been off a couple of days. Thanks again for your help
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Sep 14, 2013
Messages
4,494
Reaction score
3,491
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio
Hardiness Zone
6 A
Country
United States
You need to get an aerator going ASAP, or a small cheap pump recirculating water. 3 koi in 700 gallons and pump being off for a couple days already is not good.

I suggest you also do small water changes, adding something like "Pond Prime" by Seachem, to bind the ammonia.
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2019
Messages
9
Reaction score
8
Country
United States
You need to get an aerator going ASAP, or a small cheap pump recirculating water. 3 koi in 700 gallons and pump being off for a couple days already is not good.

I suggest you also do small water changes, adding something like "Pond Prime" by Seachem, to bind the ammonia.
Got it! Thank you for the heads up! Getting everything swapped out ASAP.
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2019
Messages
9
Reaction score
8
Country
United States
Okay, finished. I got a quick connect to make it easier on myself for next time. Now I just have to replace the GFCI outlets I fried and I'm all set!


Thanks again everyone for all your help! This turned out to be easier than I thought!
IMG_20191010_114455.jpg
 

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Moderator
Joined
Jun 23, 2010
Messages
35,998
Reaction score
20,634
Location
Frederick, Maryland
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Welcome to our forum!

Way to go and good job. We have a lot of very helpful people on here.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top