Running pump during winter months

Reaction score
Hi all,

I just moved into a house with a beautiful established pond built by the previous owners. I'm guessing it contains about 2000 gallons. I have no experience with pond care but want to learn more. The pump has a timer feature and a small waterfall as well. What's the recommended amount of time per day to run the pump during the winter months? I live in Greenville NC. Thanks.

Dennis

Reaction score
I'm much more north, and freezing is an issue up here, and we still run 24/7. We just have a couple areas we need to watch.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United Kingdom
We live in the UK and have kept koi for 26 years now , personally I'd run the pond 24/7, 365 days in the year , I recomend you also do some reading up on your fish subject first as that way you'd know if you were going wrong or not .
Weve posted a list of books from our koi Library that would help you imeansly in learming how to keep fish/koi , health issues etc, they are listed with title, Author, ISBN numbers all you have to do is go out and buy one or two , you wont go wrong
rgrds

Dave

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
I shut mine down, but my pump is external (a lose of power it could freeze up and be ruined) and my filter is a big bog, which with the surface area really cools the pond water.

Did the previous owners tell you anything about it care?

brandonsdad02

They call me Ryan
Reaction score
Mine is still going right now. We haven't had too many cold nights here yet. I'm in central Iowa. We had a high of 57*F yesterday and supposed to get to 63 today. Not too bad for December.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States