Running two filters?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there. We currently have a pressurised filter with UV but it doesn't seem to be big enough to stop the pond water from going green.
Can I either 'daisychain' two pressurised filters together or can I have the pressurised filter feeding into a normal gravity fed filter with just some foam and bio media in it to give the water a bit more filtration?
Or.....Should I give up and spend out on a bigger filter?

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
I would make a filter those pressurized ones seem to never work for anyone .You open them they always smell like a sewer .I had one on my first pond and back flushed it 4 or 5 times a day nd it was useless and had a uv .I then did a stock tank filter
100_8589.JPG
100_7045.JPG

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6A, we are also very windy
Country
United States
Sorry, I'm a bit new to this game.
Could you explain what that means?
If you Google "skippy filter", you'll see links to many biological filtration setup that people have made themselves that are both much less expensive than a commercial set up and almost always work far better.

Reaction score
Hi there. We currently have a pressurised filter with UV but it doesn't seem to be big enough to stop the pond water from going green.
Can I either 'daisychain' two pressurised filters together or can I have the pressurised filter feeding into a normal gravity fed filter with just some foam and bio media in it to give the water a bit more filtration?
Or.....Should I give up and spend out on a bigger filter?
You can daisy chain pressurized filters.

You can direct outflow from the pressurized filter go a "gravity fed" filter or anything you like. Wouldn't actually be gravity fed, it would be pump fed, but I get the idea.

And you can give up and buy a bigger filter.