Saving moss on rocks while killing algae in pond

Reaction score
I have a small backyard pond that was put in last fall. Rocks that I used around pond have beautiful green carpet moss growning on them. I am starting to see algae growing on the bottom of the pond. There are no fish in this water feature. Does anyone know of an algaecide that will not kill my carpet moss? It adds such character and i really want to save it. I am new to this and any suggestions would be appreciated. Thank you.

Attachments

• 005.JPG
    005.JPG
    104.8 KB · Views: 345

taherrmann4

Tmann
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
You might get some algae on the rocks right by the water level but I would think the others would be fine. The only way I know to get rid of it is to pull it off. I have moss growing in my creek in a few places and I just pull the algae that does get attached off.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
welcome and love how your tank is .You have a liner all around it and it just runs back in the pond .Original idea never saw anything like that before
lshofner95 said:
I have a small backyard pond that was put in last fall. Rocks that I used around pond have beautiful green carpet moss growning on them. I am starting to see algae growing on the bottom of the pond. There are no fish in this water feature. Does anyone know of an algaecide that will not kill my carpet moss? It adds such character and i really want to save it. I am new to this and any suggestions would be appreciated. Thank you.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
more pics and info on your pond we like new ideas people give us .more pics don't make me beg .PLEASE :razz:

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States