Sea Horse Pumps

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi Everyone,

I am considering buying this pump - Lifegard Sea Horse Self Priming Pump w/ Free Strainer Pot - 1 HP - 82 GPM - 115v - The specs seem to be right for me. Wondering if anyone has opinions about the quality of this pump. Also, if anyone knows how lounger's or quiet it might run. I am looking for as quiet a pump as I can get. Thanks!!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Never heard of them. Looking at the pump curve, though, I am very interested to see how massive your waterfall is, though!

Reaction score
Country
United States
I am a novice, so I might be looking at the wrong pump. My waterfall will only be about 4 ft above the pond water level. !8 ft stream. Splitting the output of the pump between (with ball valves) the waterfall and a bog. Input to the pump will be the skimmer and the bottom drain.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
If you're selecting based on flow rate, I would encourage you to look at other pumps with a similar flow rate but lower head performance. How far is your pipe run? I'd guess you'll be under 10' of TDH?

The pump you're looking at is rated to run up to 12 amps to service 20-50' of head. That will consume nearly 1,000 kwh of electricity per month. Gonna be a big bill.

Tell us more about how water gets from point A to point B and we can help you pick the most appropriate pump(s) to get the job done without wasting energy.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
I have this pump. It has been running continuously for over 5 years. When it finally dies I will replace it with the same one.
My pond has 2 pumps. The other is an Alpine submersible and it feeds the waterfall.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
@BobDE: Nice to hear it that it is holding up. Have you ever checked its power draw in your application? It's rated up to 1300 watts.

Reaction score
Country
United States