Setting up new pond

Reaction score
Country
United States
I just set up a new pond in my backyard all by myself. I am completely new to this and there is so much information out there but its hard to get a clear answer. This my set up........
I have a skimmer goes into a pump. The pump is then connected to a UV Clarifier and then goes into a waterfall spillway. I have 2 Koi and some small goldfish in the pond. Been running for 2 months but with no major problems. My question is do I need a Bio Filter? I put some Bio balls on the top of my waterfall so water and air would combine as it re enters into the pond but the bio balls aren't submerged and I'm not exactly sure how it works. Are the Bio Balls good enough for a bio system? Am I doing it right?
Any advice would be helpful!

DutchMuch

Lord Of The Aquascapes!
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
Before you add fish to a pond, you need to cycle it. Cycling a pond is when you achieve beneficial bacteria growth in a large amount, or stable amount, and it control's ammonia and nitrites.
Levels normally should be:
Ammonia 0ppm (parts per million)
Nitrite 0ppm
Nitrate 2-10ppm preferably imo
There are 100's of thousands of articles on how to cycle a pond properly you could look up. I just gave you the basic rundown.
Some people use a wet dry filter for bio filtration you could look into, I have personally never done that though so im no use there.
Bio balls are a great source for benefical bacteria to grow and accumulate on. Make sure they are submerged (unless wet dry method) in the ponds filter, or wherever... if they are emersed from the water or filter, as far as I know, they will not grow.
Do you have a test kit? (such as API master test kit, or ALA master test kit preferably?) to tell your levels, if so what are your levels & phosphates?
Size of pond also?
Thanks!
Welcome to GPF! :ROFLMAO:

Reaction score
Country
United States