Shallow water full sun hardies?

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States
So...since we decided not to build a creek to our pond, we now have a chunk of pre-cut pond/creek liner that can't be returned to the store...and I got an idea.

We have a series of three 4' x 4' raised garden beds (composite material) alongside our cabin that failed as vegetable garden beds, but excelled as flowerbeds. Flowerbeds that are now massively overgrown. So I was thinking about transplanting the giant specimens to other areas of our yard, and converting the beds into 1/3 planting beds, 2/3 container water gardens. These would be plants only and no fish. (My cheezy paint sketch below).

I am pretty new to the aquatic plant world, so my question to the veterans out there: What, if any, varieties of hardy water lilies would do well in full (morning and early afternoon) sun, in 8"-9" of water, zone 7a? Likewise, would said water lilies over winter very well without me having to move them to the depths of our pond? (We rarely get winter weather that causes more than a thin skin of ice over surfaces.) I pretty much would like to stick with hardies to avoid the expense of replacing tropicals every year.

Any input would be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance.

IdeaWeb.jpg

Last edited:

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
my lilies are in a pond by them selves and are now growing water hyacinth on the root ball of it .So why not taddies or mosquito dunks will take care of any bug problem .My walmart had mosquito dunks clearanced out 12 for 2 dollars

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States
my lilies are in a pond by them selves and are now growing water hyacinth on the root ball of it .So why not taddies or mosquito dunks will take care of any bug problem .My walmart had mosquito dunks clearanced out 12 for 2 dollars