Sick koi

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
When I got home from work yesterday and went to check on my two little koi I have they both were doing fine. Later I went back out to water my plants and added water from the hose to my pond. Was very little. (Have done this before with no problems.) I also fed the yellow koi a couple of pellets of food. (Tetra). The other is still to bashful. Afterwards I noticed my little yellow koi was swimming fine but then when not swimming he would start going nose down as if his head was weighted down. Or if he was laying on the bottom of the pond he would start rolling over to his side. The only thing I could think of to do at that moment was to grab some peas and feed which he gobbled up in no time. I'm really new to having fish so haven't got a water tester kit yet, but will today. I do know my water temp is hovering between 50 and 60 degrees. I only have the two small koi. My little pond is 150 gallons. I know without testing the water you can't really tell what's going on. But thought maybe the symptoms for now would help.

Got up this morning and checked on my koi. Both are doing the nose down and laying on sides.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
Could be lack of oxygen ,could also be city water that had something in it .Not sure if you are on a well or city .Do you know how chilly the water is and could the water you added change the temperature to fast ..

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6 A
Country
United States
The very first thing I would do, is stop feeding and test your water. If you have city water, be sure to use de chlorinator when adding any water. 150 gallon is a small body of water, so even adding a little water, is concentrated.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States