Sickly Goldfish

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi
i am a new goldfish keeper and noticed one of my 12 goldfish looks sickly - seems to be acting normally but i noticed marks on its body. I dont know what it is
and and worry it is going to affect my other fish if it is contagious. Has anybody any idea? i am new to fish and dont want to cause this fish any suffering by not sorting it quickly.

Attachments

• IMG_3580 (1).jpg
    IMG_3580 (1).jpg
    85.8 KB · Views: 205
  • IMG_3581.jpg
    IMG_3581.jpg
    99.8 KB · Views: 220

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
Almost looks like it has injured itself maybe bashed into a rock or something. Hopefully someone else will chime in also.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a
Agree. Either injured itself or was injured by other fish. Are your fish spawning? Chasing each other relentlessly?
I saw that exact injury on one of my females recently. She was being relentlessly chased and prodded by a few of the males. It was so bad, I was thinking of capturing her to isolate her. I put my net in the water and realized there was no way I could capture her.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6 A
Country
United States
I think it looks like an internal infection with a developing ulcer. Are you able to isolate it in a separate tank with aeration?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Thank you for the responses. Either injury or illness then but i cannot separate with aeration. i can separate buy taking it out of the pond and putting in a temporary plastic tub or similar? But how long could it survive in a plastic tub? How can I find out for sure what it is? Sorry if this sounds like a daft question, but I have never had a fish that was not in good health!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6 A
Country
United States