Small garden pond help

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
I recently put in a preformed garden pond measuring 39 inches long x 28 inches wide x 15 inches deep for a total of 33 gallons. I have a Pondmaster 190 GPH small to medium pump with filter that I am going to use in it. I also am going to use Pondcare AccuClear Pond Clarifier since it is such a small pond. I do not have a waterfall and the area I am using it in can only have this size of pond in it. I have 3 planted freshwater aquariums and at one time I attempted to install a 8 ft. long x 6 ft. wide x 6 ft. deep pond with a waterfall but was unsuccessful. I need some help in maintaining this garden pond since I have never really had an outdoor pond. Any help that anyone can give me would be great. I wanted to know if the pump I am using will be adequate for circulation and keeping my pond clear? I do not have any plants or fish in this pond either. I also wanted to know since I live in PA. what winterizing do I need and do I need to turn off my pump when it gets colder weather? I also wanted to know if I should use some type of heater in the pond? Like I said I need some help with this and any and all help that I get I really appreciate it.
Thank you.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
Hi Stella. Welcome! I'll try to answer a few questions. I don't like to add chemicals to my pond. I don't think they really do much and sometimes you need to add other chemicals to get rid of the problems from the first batch of chemicals. Because your pond is only 15 inches deep must of it will get frozen in the winter. You definitely don't want to let a pump freeze in the water. I usually take mine out around Thanksgiving and put it back in March but my pond is deeper than yours. Is there going to be any wildlife in the pond? That will help answer more of your questions. Good luck!

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States