Small pond, big results

Reaction score
Hey everyone, I figured I'd share the above ground pond I just installed in my parents' backyard. It's only 160 gallons but it very much enhances the mood of the backyard.

It hosts three koi (there were 4, but one was eaten by a crane), a tropical lily, dwarf lily, lilly, water hyacinth, grasses, cannalily and other flowering plants, and as the days go by, more and more life such as butterflies, dragonflies and various pollen gathering insects, and even a lizard.

I've been keeping aquariums for nearly 20 years now, so this wasn't the hardest thing to do for me. My pump does 350gph, which was sufficient to clear an algae bloom in a little less than 3 days, once the bacteria were sufficiently established.

as you can see, everything is in a cycle of blooming. The dwarf lilly has a white flower, but it's not pictured here, as I didn't find time to photograph it when it did bloom.

Hope you guys enjoy the macro photography.

p1ia5.jpg

p2ef2.jpg

p3jl3.jpg

p4dg3.jpg

DrDave

Innovator
Reaction score
Great photos!
With a small pond like this, you should be able to net it when you are not around to keep the birds from getting your Koi.

Reaction score
Thanks for the comments, guys. I think I've solved the problem with predatory birds. Running dowels into the ground and stringing them with mono filament would prevent a bird from walking up to the pond, and there is not enough space left on the shallow shelf for one to wade or land. I've watched cats attempt to get at my fish, and they give up within seconds.

Once I've restored the water clarity, I'll post a shot of the whole setup.