Small pond losing a foot of water

Reaction score
Country
United States
It is summer and I know that the amount of water I am losing is not normal. I have tried to think of a reason on why my pond is losing a foot and a half of water one day and then some days not any at all. I did have some leaves blocking my pump at the bottom of my pond when I checked it out today (the water lose was today) I haven't ruled out water splashing out of the pond but I would think i would lose water everyday if that was the case?? Any help would be awesome and I'm also very new to ponds!

Reaction score
Country
United States
About 3ft x 2ft and 3ft deep

Attachments

• image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    391 KB · Views: 251
  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    308.8 KB · Views: 241
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
4b
Country
United States
I had a preformed pond that did something like that. Almost no loss one day and 6" on another. It turned out to be a crack that must have been sensitive to moisture in the soil or heat changes. I never did figure out why it was so variable. I finally let it go down until it didn't lose more and looked all the way around, just above the waterline. It was hard to see and only about 2 1/2" long.

Reaction score
Country
United States
I had a preformed pond that did something like that. Almost no loss one day and 6" on another. It turned out to be a crack that must have been sensitive to moisture in the soil or heat changes. I never did figure out why it was so variable. I finally let it go down until it didn't lose more and looked all the way around, just above the waterline. It was hard to see and only about 2 1/2" long.
Ok i will look into that thank you!

Reaction score
Country
United States
What has has your weather been like lately? Are you in a dry or a humid climate and do you have much wind?