Source water ammonia

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello all, I’ve been keeping koi and goldfish for over 20 years, we are on municipal wells and up until recently we have had great water. I got a betta so I took my water in to be tested and was horrified to see we had ammonia of 2ppm. I have been trickling water in my 10,000 gal koi pond and found it was at .25, my 3800 gal goldfish is at 0, no water added since shut down. I have some ammonia binder coming but my question is, what do I do now about water changes, I vacuum the ponds weekly once the season starts. This is so frustrating, some of my koi are 19 and 20 years old. I checked the output of the 2 wells that service my house, one read 2 and the other 4ppm
any help appreciated

Jhn

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7b
Country
United States
Hello all, I’ve been keeping koi and goldfish for over 20 years, we are on municipal wells and up until recently we have had great water. I got a betta so I took my water in to be tested and was horrified to see we had ammonia of 2ppm. I have been trickling water in my 10,000 gal koi pond and found it was at .25, my 3800 gal goldfish is at 0, no water added since shut down. I have some ammonia binder coming but my question is, what do I do now about water changes, I vacuum the ponds weekly once the season starts. This is so frustrating, some of my koi are 19 and 20 years old. I checked the output of the 2 wells that service my house, one read 2 and the other 4ppm
any help appreciated

What type of pond do you have? A Dedicated koi pond or hybrid or eco pond?

The last two should not need water changes, if set up properly. If a DKP is what you have, you could invest in a ro filter and reservoir to store water for water changes, this would remove ammonia.
Personally, I don’t do water changes in any of my ponds for the very Reason you are experiencing, source water issues. But all my ponds are eco/hybrid ponds that aim to achieve a natural balance....