Spillway and pump question

Discussion in 'Pond Construction & Equipment' started by MrTint, Oct 14, 2017.

  1. MrTint

    MrTint

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    San Diego
    IMG_2994.JPG hello
    Hoping I can get some help on correct spillway and pump for a pondless waterfall
    I would like to create a waterfall that I can create class 5 rapids. Haha. Seriously I would like the ability to have a good amount of water flow but also slow it down at night so I think I would like to use the pentair variable speed 3hp pool pump (I'll try and post Amazon link to pump)

    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B007E4VWN...t=&hvlocphy=9031321&hvtargid=pla-310203893213

    What I'm unsure of is if I can use 1 38" spillway (9k gph flow rate) or if I need (2) 26" spillways (6k gph flow rate each)

    http://www.atlanticwatergardens.com/products/categories/pond-free/fastfalls

    The bank that I want to put it on is 22' long and 12' high (head pressure) I will place the pump about 20' from basin so intake side will have about 20' of hose and output side will run about 40' up 12' to spillway

    My question is 1) is pump size big enough and 2) what spillway is appropriate for the max amount of water to be moved?

    Thanks in advance
     
    MrTint, Oct 14, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. MrTint

    sissy sissy

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    31,320
    Likes Received:
    14,351
    Location:
    Axton virginia
    pool pumps can be expensive to run .Also how would you slow it down at night because doing that may burn out pump .Best bet is 2 pumps and turn one off at night ..This way maybe you can get energy efficient pumps .I always use 2 pumps in my pond .1 burns out or has problems there is always a back up ..This way you can run 2 hoses or piping to the top of the waterfall
     
    sissy, Oct 14, 2017
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. MrTint

    sissy sissy

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    31,320
    Likes Received:
    14,351
    Location:
    Axton virginia
    Idea like mine outlets with switch's inside would work to control pumps .My son put all my pumps on switched outlets and the switch's are in my master bedroom closet
     
    sissy, Oct 14, 2017
    #3
  4. MrTint

    MrTint

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    San Diego
    It's actually a variable speed pump so I can run at ant RPM's I like. It has 8 preset buttons I can set and program.
    I did manage to get an sender to my question. The pump can actually out perform a single spillway at at 9k per hour. The head was actually at 60 because the length of run. It drops to 24 if I run 3" pipe (I'll probably do that anyway) but both the pump and spillway have 2". I can reduce them but water still has to pass thru 2" fitting
     
    MrTint, Oct 15, 2017
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.