Spring Feed Pond

Reaction score
Newbie here. Been researching and working on a mud pond construction and have been very successful but, this is where my knowledge ends. I'm looking to create a koi pond environment and starting to research filters and pumps and would like to get some opinions on my plans and build progress.

For background, my wife and I purchased our place in Indiana about 2 ½ years ago. What started as a literal garbage dump hole on our property has slowly transformed into a nice little pond. To start we got most of the big stuff out and then I constructed a siphon 200’ of 2” PVC down the hill and a flexible hose at the top. This worked great and I was able to clean out tons of silt and get the remaining garbage. As we did this, we noticed that that next day it would fill again, one side was all pit run and sand which we discovered was a surface spring. This created addition motivation about this project and I put more attention to it thinking I could turn it into something nice.

Last year I purchased a front loader/backhoe tractor for work around the property and started playing with the pond a bit more. I had lots of issues with our lower land and it constantly being wet and thought this pond/seep was creating the issue so I decided I needed a pipe to control the water. I proceeded with digging a trench and installing a 3” pipe from the lowest point of the pond to the bottom of the hill to control the water flow and level. Also built a ditch that diverts the water where I want. Once the pipe was in I started measuring water flow from the spring and estimate 150-200 GPH and in late summer it will drop to 50-100 GPH.