Started my pond

Reaction score
Well, I broke ground on my little 5W x 10L x 2D pond yesterday. The wife was away at a class so I decided to use my free time after work productively. Somehow I managed to dig the whole thing in 3 hours. When I'm not trying to grow grass or prevent my backyard from eroding out into the road behind me I truly love my sandy soil.

I’ve decided to document my progress here on this thread because in looking around on this forum I found the posts where the whole experience was described from start to finish to be the most helpful. I’ll likely make a lot of stupid mistakes so it’s probably a safe assumption to file everything in here under what not to do when building a pond. I’m not an expert on plumbing or anything that I need to do here really but I can wield a wicked shovel when I have to.

As it comes along, I’ll try to post some pictures.

Reaction score
Well, I’ve pretty much finished my water feature. I wanted to update this thread as I progressed but my home computer contracted some type of cyber venereal disease during the ponds construction and I had to reinstall the OS. It’s also fair season around here and since my wife and kid love going to them, I’ve been spending most of my weekends eating fried foods and drinking tiny little cups of overpriced beer. Outdoor festivals + special needs computer + pond building = little time for typing words on a forum.

All those things aside, I now have a dandy new hole that’s filled with water in my backyard and I’d like to share a few things that I learned while making it. As I said in my initial post, I knew nothing about what I was doing when I got myself into this and I would probably make lots of mistakes. I did. Now I’m going to share them with you in the hope that other’s do not follow in my footsteps.