Steps to maximize koi babies?

Abby

Nature & zen lover, Aquatic plant sales
Reaction score
Central Texas… home of the 10 month summer! ;)
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
So I have a few seemingly pregger females (I know they’re not technically pregnant but you know what I mean) ;) and atleast one male in a 4600 gallon pond … I’m hoping for babies…and I’m wondering if there’s a method to optimize spawning & optimize how many babies survive rather than fall prey to potential predators and skimmers??? Any links or suggestions of what to do when and how? Please teach me your wise ways, great koi baby bearers! ❤️ I know people put them in separate tanks but when and for how long and how big does it have to be and how many can be together for a spawning tank? Any and all wisdom welcome!

And if I do nothing and just let nature take it’s course in the big pond with zero intervention from me, will I likely only get a few babies?

Total noob with big baby dreams ;)

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Be careful what you wish for!!!! Yes, chances are you will get babies that survive, but you are also at risk of overpopulating your pond once those babies grow up. Once spawning happens, the parents will probably eat a good proportion of the eggs. Provide lots of plants (floaters) that babies can hide in, and that will help their chances of survival. Babies are fun! The first 2 years that I had my pond, I would catch every fry (goldfish, though, not koi) I spotted and hand-raise it/them in an indoor tank! Oh, it was so exciting…..until it turned into work, trying to keep the water balanced so they would survive, etc. Now, I just let nature take its course. Not necessarily trying to discourage you. It really was fun and exciting!

Abby

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States