stock tank water garden advice

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Hi!

So, I'm a newbie, here, and I'm really eager for feedback on my set-up so far. I have a 300 gallon galvanized stock tank, and I've planted it with three water lilies (which are just now having their first leaves hit the surface of the water), four or five marginal bog plants, which also haven't really filled it (they were just planted last week), and two filter/pumps. Basically, they're box filter pond pumps with fountain head attachments--one is 190 gph, and the other is 500 gph. My water is clear, and I test with some pond strips every week or so, and I've got good levels, across the board. I've also got a barley straw bale in there, just for good measure. I recently added some floating plants--three water lettuce, three water hyacinth, and about 1/4 cup of duckweed. I started off with a lot of anacharis, but my first few fish devoured it.

I've got seven fish, so far, and I'm nervous that I'm close to capacity, but I'm hoping that I'm keeping a high enough water quality and flow that I'm not harming them. Right now I've got:

4 comets (1 red, 1 apricot, 1 sarasa, and 1 blackout, not that the colors matter, but I'm proud of them)--each about 5"

2 shubunkin -- one is fat as hell and about 6", and the other's more slender and more like 5"

1 waikin -- 4"

They all seem happy, and they're swimming around like they own the place. The blackout and apricot comets have been chasing the sarasa and red comets, which I think gives me a good clue to the gender. The shubunkins have been more shy. The waikin seems to be a bit of a loner, but it's the smallest fish of the group--everyone seems to be ignoring it, and every once in a blue moon, he'll hang out with the shubunkin, who are often together.