Stream without waterfall

Reaction score
Is it possible at all? My home owner association do not allow waterfall, but ok with pond. What I have in mind is to make stream around 15ft long, 2ft wide, 2 inches deep that runs to a pond that's roughly around 15ft long, 4ft wide, 3ft deep at the end with only half of it fill with water.

I can have 3 proposals , but would like to include stream on all 3 design. If they rejected the 3 proposals then I have ot submit another one with $$$$. What do you guys think, is stream consider the same as waterfall?

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
I am no expert but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express once.

I bet the reason behind the no waterfall with your HOA is because of noise. Streams can make noise as well (not as much normally) so that might be a no go.

I don't have an HOA and have never lived in one but have heard horror stories about them.

JohnHuff

I know nothing.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
1a
Country
Kyrgyzstan
Yes, definitely you can do that! And a stream is a natural biofilter. Can you show us your designs?

JohnHuff

I know nothing.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
1a
Country
Kyrgyzstan
pecan said:
I am no expert but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express once.

I bet the reason behind the no waterfall with your HOA is because of noise. Streams can make noise as well (not as much normally) so that might be a no go.
Pecan! You avatar scares me!
If stream noise is a problem, you can make an underground stream with PVC pipes.

Reaction score
To Pecan,
I forgot to mention that I want a slow running water more like a lazy brook, no white water here. Now that you mention it, maybe it's a good try to include slow running water in the application.

To Dr John
How to post a picture/photo here.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Dr. John, Thanks about the avatar! It is me dressed up Halloween 2011, I was trying to be scary :)