String algae

Reaction score
Country
United States
Need advice on a chemical killing of some string algae in an approx 1000 gallon pond? Priority use of this water feature is a birdbath. It has a few Bluegills but their tadpole duty is over for now and I'm sure they'd like see their real lake again.
I'm looking for suggestions on the best approach, the best chemicals to use, and the best PH to shoot for. Prior to the geese using it again and then re introducing fish again. I'm shooting for the shortest window possible. I drank plenty a pool water back in my day and they just need it for a decent place to take a bath at.

Attachments

• P1120217.JPG
    P1120217.JPG
    342.5 KB · Views: 169
Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi Earlofcrankcase, let's 'downshift' for a moment and let me ask is your ultimate goal a goose pond? You asked about chemicals and I am not a big proponent of their use. I would go the natural route such as aeration, tinting the water, providing shade or perhaps grass carp. Even consider some tough stem bog plants that are not on the dinner list of your geese. I wouldn't worry or attempt to alter your pH. Here is a useful link that might be of use:https://fullserviceaquatics.com/control-string-algae-koi-pond-water-garden/

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
I'm sorry any small pond that the geese hang out in for any length of time is going to get totally bombarded with POOP and with poop you will get algae or some very nasty green water The only hope would be a pond vacuum and clean the bottom constantly and get plenty of fast growing plants. is there a skimmer and a waterfall filter on your pond? i don't see any rock in the pond for bacteria to grow on .. Don't forget this time of year even the best of designs with ponds get some hair algae

Reaction score
Country
United States