Substrate for a natural swimming pond - help!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, I'm a newbie here, everyone's advice looks very expert and I'm desperate for some expert advice!

We are in the UK, and building a natural swimming pond. There is a swimming 'sump' that is 14mx4m and then a 'regeneration' area sloping away on all four sides of the swimming area which in total covers around that same area.

We have lined the pond with EPDM and have 20 tons of washed pea gravel ready to go down on the regeneration zone.

We are planning on using plants only to manage the water quality.

So my question, finally, is - what is the best substrate for the plants, to go under the shingle? I don't want to plant the plants in individual plant tubs as the overall look we want is abundant, wild, growth, ie not really able to see the gravel between the plants. So I think we need something between the liner and the gravel.

Aquatic compost on this scale is stupidly expensive but if it's necessary then we'll go that route. Or would coir work, with a bentomite (clay) layer? Or just go for the clay layer and then poke fertilising 'sticks' under the clay near where the key plants are?

Anyone?

I'm really stuck despite extensive googling and double checking of the (otherwise excellent) book 'How to build a natural swimming pool' by Worfram Kircher and Andreas Thon

Thanks

IPA

Reaction score
63b Chesapeake-Pamlico Lowlands and Tidal Marshes
Hardiness Zone
8a
Country
United States
Have you tried David Pagan Butler's YouTube channel? I am not sure of any active members with natural swimming pools, most of the knowledge base here is regarding Garden fish ponds. @Big Lou may know the answer or be able to point you in the right direction.

link to David pagan Butler's channel:
https://www.youtube.com/user/davidpaganbutler/videos