Testing Water?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
I am brand new to pond keeping. I bought a house with a 3500 gallon pond (swamp) w/ waterfalls. I had it cleaned out by a landscaping company and a new pump put in. Aside from the first two weeks after it was filled up (when it was sparkling clear), it has been nothing but a mess. I now have the inkling after reading a few forums on there that I should be testing the water. But I have ho idea how, what product to use, and what I'm looking for. Any tips on products, first of all? And what I want to see when I test it? Thanks!

-Arianne

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United Kingdom
Hi and welcome to the form from a damp and overcast Plymouth UK :)
Your best bet would be to buy an API Pond Master Test kit and an API Nitrates Kit.
When out and about by your pond always check up on the health of your fish , use your nose because if a pond smlls bad then you have a problem that needs to be addressed. asap.:(
Only feed as much as your fish will consume in 5 minutes upwards of three times a day .
There are many more tips we can give you but not all at once .
Weve been keeping koi 28 years and have enjoyed every minute of our hobby .
Amazingly fish do have personalities and even more amazingly are the life spans of a) goldfish who i propperly looked after can live up to 40 years Yet even more amazingly the koi can if propperly looked after live 80+ years with some reports coming from Japan of a fish called Hanaku , who was born 25 years before the signing of Independance from us damn Brits :LOL: and kived till 1978 .

Dave

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Welcome to our group!

When you have your pond drained and cleaned it is doing a start over. It needs to cycle. Do you have fish? if so what kind and how many (good guess).
What kind of a filter?