The beginnings of my dream pond

Reaction score
Hello all,

I am new to this forum and wanted to say hello!

Intro about me:
I am still a newb by definition. I have had small preformed ponds before (nothing over 500 gallons) with plants and goldfish. So I understand most of the terminology and theories but decided to make my dream pond (6x12x3 with waterfall).

So the question:
I want stack the stone sideways on each other. I have 3-4" thick flat stone and 1-2" also. I noticed that most people who do this method have to mortar the stone like a walkway or patio. I would love to not have to do this to have a more natural look (gapping) of the stone. I have read through the forums about mortar, adhesives, and foam. So I know these will have to be used in some form to keep the rocks from sliding and possibly puncturing the liner. There are shelves at 12" and 22" below water line but the highest point is about 12" above the waterline vertically.

What I want to know is how stable would this be on a 1.5'-2' vertical wall? What would I need to keep the stones there?

I do plan to use the same stone but flat as the coping stones around the pond. So I could possible adhere the wall stone to the large coping stone (not sure how though).

Any direction, links, advice would be greatly appreciated.

I will post pics when I get home to give a clearer idea of what the pond looks like.

Thank you all ahead of time and look forward to becoming a contributing member to this forum.

Reaction score