Tips needed for sawing a beveled edge on lumber

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
I will be working on the fencing for the turtle habitat and want to make some angles along the way, other than right angles. Will be using pressure treated decking boards.

We don't have a table saw or compound miter saw. All we have is a regular circular saw which can be adjusted for beveled cuts, but I've never done this before. Anyone have any tips that would help me?

Reaction score
Use the guide for your saw and a sharp blade.
ShowProductImage.aspx

Oh,and because you'll be sawing pressure treated wood,,,, wear a mask.

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
TM to be clear. are you needing to bevel the sides of the board or are you wanting to cut angles on the end of the boards?
Good question, so guess we had better clarify that.

image.jpg

Like the 3rd example above -- so I can make fencing at an angle. The other picture is how the pieces would fit together, though not in that shape, LOL!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a
Finally a question I can answer! If I were attempting to cut the boards and had no access to a miter saw, I would use your circular saw and get what is called a speed square. You can pick up a cheap plastic version at one of the home stores. Mark your board where you want to cut it, then place the saw on the mark, then as in the pic I attached, place the speed square up to the base of the saw, then make your cut, the square will help you guide the saw straight. I hope this is what you're asking.
speed square.jpg
square with saw.jpg

Reaction score
Good question, so guess we had better clarify that.

View attachment 74220

Like the 3rd example above -- so I can make fencing at an angle. The other picture is how the pieces would fit together, though not in that shape, LOL!