To those of you that have backyard chickens

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
This is my first year owning chickens, up until now I've opened the chicken door at 5:30am and closed it back up after work around 6:30pm, but we are getting into single digits temps and I'm not sure if I should keep letting my chickens out in this cold, or keep them locked up so the coop stays warmer
They are confined to the run, not free range, and the run is covered, what should I do?

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
I see chicken coops around here on my walks and I also have had them before. We don't get as cold as you do but I have noticed on really cold days the chickens seem to be smart enough to go in when they get too cold. If you provide a warming lamp on really cold days they would for sure go in there to stay warm. Or you could do this for them......................................

Reaction score
This is my first year owning chickens, up until now I've opened the chicken door at 5:30am and closed it back up after work around 6:30pm, but we are getting into single digits temps and I'm not sure if I should keep letting my chickens out in this cold, or keep them locked up so the coop stays warmer
They are confined to the run, not free range, and the run is covered, what should I do?
Are they currently laying eggs? Are you giving them extra artificial lighting?
If it's too cold for them outside they will go inside on their own.
I gota ask though, there is lots of information out there on chicken husbandry, I don't know why you would seek out information on a pond forum to ask questions about chickens?

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
I gota ask though, there is lots of information out there on chicken husbandry, I don't know why you would seek out information on a pond forum to ask questions about chickens?