(too?) cheap Koi

Reaction score
I saw an advert from a guy close to where I live, he had over 50 of own grown small Koi for sale, for, basically nothing. Prices ranged from 3 euro (thats like 5 dollar) for the smallest fry to 5 euro for the bigger ones (still small at 10-12cm or 4-5 inch). On the pics they looked pretty nice, perhaps not price winners, but good enough for me. Here is one:

And in real they looked even better. Some very very nice specimen. Quite amazing. I also saw some of the 'forefathers' in his garden pond, and while Im no expert, they looked, well, extremely nice. Huge too, Im guessing 70cm.

Now, this is not a professional. At all. He just has a huge natural pond (if I understood correctly, several in fact), where his father introduced Japanese Koi years ago, and they bread like mad and still do. He does nothing for it (he doesnt even know how). Every year he draws a net to keep the population under control and sells them for peanuts. Money doesnt interest him (and it looks like he doesnt need it either). He even had no idea what a regular price for Koi is.

Now, this all sounds too good to be true, no? Still, I couldnt resist, and I picked 10 of the nicest looking Koi. At the rate his phone was ringing and people where lining up, I think he sold out the same day.

Now, what should I be wary off? I have them in a separate little pond for now. Is there anything I can or should check for before putting them amongst the others? Im no fish doctor, but what I can tell,they look perfectly healthy. He also had them stored in huge tanks with plenty of aeration. They eat normally, they dont seem stressed, I dont see white spots or anything indicating a decease. Would it be a big gamble to add them to my pond?

koiguy1969

GIGGETY-GIGGETY!!
Reaction score
if its those...theyre looking pretty good to me!...is he using that pic just get ya there?...the old bait and switch?

Reaction score
koiguy1969 said: