Too many orange koi Fry

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi,
I’m relatively new to keeping koi, having purchased my first batch of about five fish approximately five years ago. Since then, our collection has grown to about 20 fish in a large unfiltered pond with a lot of plants.
The fish have bread again this year and produced a large number of simple orange koi as well as some very colorful and beautiful fish. There is no way that my pond can handle this number of fish. I don’t imagine there is much of a market for these pure orange koi fry which are growing quickly. I don’t want to kill them. What do I do??? Please advise

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
1593535587879.gif
@Naomi B
You can try putting them on nextdoor.com as you join it and choose your own neighborhood. It's all over the whole country. Lots of people looking to start ponds and need fish. Make sure they have a big enough pond that can handle those big koi.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,
I’m relatively new to keeping koi, having purchased my first batch of about five fish approximately five years ago. Since then, our collection has grown to about 20 fish in a large unfiltered pond with a lot of plants.
The fish have bread again this year and produced a large number of simple orange koi as well as some very colorful and beautiful fish. There is no way that my pond can handle this number of fish. I don’t imagine there is much of a market for these pure orange koi fry which are growing quickly. I don’t want to kill them. What do I do??? Please advise
Hi are these koi or cross breed with gold fish any pictures?

Reaction score
Country
United States
Thank you guys for all of your good ideas! These are pure Koi both butterfly and plain both orange and other colors available. Some of these fish are gorgeous. They are only about 2 inches long so it is hard to get images of them. Otherwise I would attach Photos

Reaction score