Too much water!

Joined
Aug 29, 2019
Messages
8
Reaction score
11
Location
Saginaw, Michigan
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United States
I recently had a new pond and waterfall installed and all has gone great so far. Last night we had a very heavy rain and the water came up 2+ inches. As a result the skimmer is below the water line and the debris is not getting drawn off the pond. Do I just wait for evaporation to bring it back down or is it normal to use a pump to bring it back down?

Also it appears that the waterfall is creating a small amount of surface foam after the rain. Normal?
 
Ad

Advertisements

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Moderator
Joined
Jun 23, 2010
Messages
35,831
Reaction score
20,495
Location
Frederick, Maryland
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Mine overfills quite often after rain, I just let it equalize by itself, I don't worry if the skimmer is not drawing for a bit. Yes you can get foam after a good rain fall, various stuff can get washed into the water, dust dirt pollen.

Welcome to our forum!
 
Joined
Jul 12, 2009
Messages
839
Reaction score
484
Location
Mount Pocono, Pennsylvania
Hardiness Zone
6a
This doesn't make sense. You want your pond to be full.
If your pond is full and your skimmer is underwater, doesn't that mean your skimmer is mounted too low?
When the water is at the level of the skimmer, is your liner exposed above that point?
If your skimmer is cut into your liner, I guess it has to stay that way.
If it doesn't naturally drain off to meet the skimmer, you may have to create a low point or a drain-off pipe to keep the water at skimmer level.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jul 12, 2009
Messages
839
Reaction score
484
Location
Mount Pocono, Pennsylvania
Hardiness Zone
6a
Yeah, I'm just wondering...when the water is at the proper skimmer level, how does the pond look? What I mean is, does the pond look as though it's not full? Is the liner exposed all around? Or are there stones and such in place to hide the liner? If so, no big deal. Just creat a low point somewhere to keep it at skimmer level.

Maybe some pictures would help us guide you better. Plus we like pictures anyway!
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2016
Messages
631
Reaction score
963
Location
Jackson TN
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
Depends on your pond.... sometimes you put the skimmer where you want the water level to be
2BAA0E5F-C290-411D-8714-AA8A817539DF.png
74BB3600-1836-40DB-8FC9-6A5B48F6E515.jpeg
 
Joined
Jul 12, 2009
Messages
839
Reaction score
484
Location
Mount Pocono, Pennsylvania
Hardiness Zone
6a
Joined
Jul 3, 2016
Messages
631
Reaction score
963
Location
Jackson TN
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
Yep, it depends. Yours looks great! What is that tan exposed part? Stone or some type of liner?

But if there was an exposed black epdm liner it might not look so good.
It’s Rock on a Roll..... not the best/natural look but better than the wrinkled 45 mil edpm. When you put rectangular edpm in a round hole you are going to have wrinkles, so the ROR is about the only option on a vertical surface short of doing stone masonry
 
Ad

Advertisements

Jhn

Joined
Jul 3, 2017
Messages
684
Reaction score
688
Location
Maryland
Hardiness Zone
7b
Country
United States
My pond will fill up above the weir to my skimmer box, before it overflows through the rock edge. The edge of my pond has rock extending under the water a good 10” or more on a shelf, so the water in my pond can change as much as a foot and you wouldn’t see the liner.

As was mentioned you may want to set a low edge so the water will only fill so high. I don’t really worry about as I don’t get that much floating debris in the pond, and the skimmer will still pull the floating debris I do get over to it even when the weir is underwater.
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2019
Messages
8
Reaction score
11
Location
Saginaw, Michigan
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United States
The pond can come up about 1.5 inches and be over the weir on the skimmer. At about 2.5 inches it would overflow the rubber liner on a low side and level itself. It's surrounded by rock with zero liner exposed. The rock sticks up on the sides quite a bit higher than the liner.
IMG_0833.jpg
IMG_0834.jpg
IMG_0835.jpg
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Aug 23, 2017
Messages
330
Reaction score
228
Location
Merritt BC
Hardiness Zone
5B
Country
Canada
I made a low spot in the liner to keep the water level set, the auto fill keeps it 1/2" below that level.
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2013
Messages
8,478
Reaction score
9,152
Location
Northern IL
Full disclosure - sometimes even when you DO plan for overflow, Mother Nature laughs in your face.

flood.JPG


This is the 3rd time this has happened in a week - we're up to almost 8 inches of rain. And when it comes down, it's hard and fast. The rain exchange is full (1000 gallons underground), the pond is full, and the drain is overwhelmed. It''ll take a few hours for the drain to catch up. We have the sump pump pumping into the rain exchange but when we get these flooding rains, we divert that down the storm sewer. Always makes us wish we had made the basin 2 or 3 times bigger!
 

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Moderator
Joined
Jun 23, 2010
Messages
35,831
Reaction score
20,495
Location
Frederick, Maryland
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
I am in good shape for excess water it just runs down our hill from the ponds heading for the woods.
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2015
Messages
592
Reaction score
498
Location
Chicago (W suburbs)
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
Most skimmers will have an overflow outlet in them that sets the maximum water height. Is yours blocked? You can connect a pipe to that outlet to direct the excess water where you want it (away from a house, down a slope, etc).
 

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
26,302
Reaction score
15,829
Location
Arlington, Washington
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
If my pond overflows it just runs out between the lowest area between the cracks of the rocks. Rocks are up on a berm sitting on the liner so it all runs downhill and good to go.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top