total beginner

Reaction score
Hi all
Just a few short lines
I'm a pond beginner infact I've have not even started it yet,was helping a friend move house and came across a 7x4x3 foot thick plastic tank so thought of using it for a pond my idea's are as follows (remember ive not got a clue ) dig a hole for tank then line it ,I believe the tank would hold about 1600litres of water so would need advice on the best filters,pumps to use and such like,my son has said he would like koi, from what I've read this tank would be to small he then said dig a hole deeper say 4 1/2 foot and use the tank as the centre of the pond leaving a 1 1/2 deep round out side
Any help or thinking like you don't want to do it like that here's a better idea would be great ,infact any tipbits would he considered very helpful
Sorry to ramble on
Thanks in advance

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
welcomefrogcar.gif

To our group

So you are thinking of putting the tub in deep and have a dug out edge around it to make the pond bigger? Would you line everything? a little lost on your thoughts

Reaction score
Yes that's right would line it as well ,have put picture of tank as my profile image ,it will be hot pressure washed before using

addy1

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Why not just dig the size you want, line it, and use the tank for one huge filter, a lily pond, a plant pond or whatever gets your fancy.
Or use the tank for a smaller pond that flows into your new liner pond.

Reaction score
I hear what your saying and thanks for your input ,I have a limited amount of space left, it can only go where it is in picture would prefer to use tank as if didn't would have dispose of it as no where to put it

addy1

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States