Total newbe to ponds, big ideas small experence

Reaction score
Hello all. Found this site and thought this may be the place for me. I just bought my new house in Central Ohio and I have room for a water gardin. I actually have 6 acres and can really get into trouble if I really want to. I have more questions then time to write at this point. I am so excited about building it.

Currently I am limited to 1000 sf total of my pond (without needing a permit from the city). I will start construction hopefully next spring 2011. I am trying to gather as much data and advice as possible before hand.

I have a few general questions I need help with before I can start asking intellegent ones. All comment and greatly apprechated and welcome (even ones I don't want to hear, they are usually the ones that matter the most)

1) First my soil is hard clay and I have a high water table (2' below grade). I have a basement and my sump pumps run constantly (I have two, one in each corner of my house). With my high water table and constant water supply, I am tempted to build my pond liner free. Am I nuts thinking this is possible? I have sean a lot of posts of pond liners completely covered with stone. Could I cover my clay with stone and get the same effect?

2) Second I want a low (very low) maintance pond. Is mud (no liner) going to kill this idea? I want to enjoy VEIWING my pond, not working on my pond. My wife has other ideas on what projects I should be working on instead of maintaining the pond. She is on board now, but if I can't hang the new shelf she got at a garage sale due to me being chest high in the pond cleaning it out for the 3rd time a season things will not be good. Her priorities are not as well adjusted as mine at this point regarding the pond.