Total Newbie - please be gentle

Reaction score
We just closed on this house last Friday and wanted to get our koi pond situation under control. The previous owners did little if any maintenance and we've never owned a pond before. We felt bad for the fish because the water was so murky that we wanted to try and clean the pot, pump and the filter. Our pump is no longer working and upon opening the pot - we found what I can only describe as little gears inside as well as some really dirty water. Can you help to get the pump working again? I'm concerned about the fish and don't want to have to buy a new pump. Thanks for your help - I've attached as many photos as possible.

https://drive.google.com/folderview?id=0By13ZHg86MwhVHdrQWxrd1ZjY0U&usp=sharing

Thanks for your help.

Reaction score
Ah welcome, this is a great place and the nicest helpers around. We are all in this together!! Sorry you feel you might be abused but I doubt that will happen here!!! Your doing the best you can. I'm not sure what the pot is but I'm sure others will know. Putting an aerator in will help give the fish more oxygen and water movement.

Pictures of you pond would help also.

Amy

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a
I am new to ponds, but been doing aquariums forever. What you are calling a pot, looks to me like a canister filter? What you describe as "gears" may be bioballs designed for beneficial bacteria to grow on.
Does your pump come apart and have an impeller(metal rod with a gear on it, will be magnetic) inside? Generally, you can pull this out and clean all parts(pipe cleaner work well) and put back together and it may work.

Reaction score