Resource icon

Transporting koi and how to go about it

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United Kingdom
Dave 54 submitted a new article:

Transporting koi and how to go about it - what you need to know.

Val and I have been showing koi for many years now travelling in some cases 175 miles on a round trip .
Weve done this safely and have never lost one of our koi , though we have had bleeds [see article].
So here is what you need to know and how to do it as safely as possible avioding stress to your koi .
1) You'll need to purchase industrial strength plastic bags.
2) You'll need heavy duty elastic bands
3) You'll need a 22" Circular catch net
4) You'll need a sock net
5) You'll need a...

Read more about this article...

Last edited:
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United Kingdom
Dave, what is the cause of bleeding from the gills?
Ammonia poisoning?
I was told by a fellow koi club member who ran a fish farm as well as a koi dealership that it is stress response [this was after our oldest koi beld during trasportation for the first of three times and we arrived in a panic at the show ground and was not ammonia poisoning ].
We retired this koi it still bleeds during handling which makes it hard to treat outside of the pond enviroment .
On top of that the health officer at all our koi shows would not have allowed a fish suffering from ammni poisoning to be shown, he being the head of the BKKS Heal Standards committee****.
As such It would have had to have been rebagged and taken home.
It is a fact that the largsest koi suffer greatly at shows I say this because all the shows weve been to our own and other koi shows by the end of the day they show a huge stress resonse in pinking up [blood vessels coming to the surface of the skin for those who dont know what pinking is through stress..
This happns even with a member of our club tasked soley to monitor ammonia levels and other water perameters throughout the show.