Tree Frog or Bullfrog?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
This is my first try at attaching photos. Here is a photo of a frog I took this morning in a window well on the back side of my house, very near where my pond will be installed this summer. Not sure if it is a tree frog or bullfrog. It's about the size of the palm of my hand the way he's sitting in this photo, and longer than my hand when stretched out. I do have a farm pond with bullfrogs, but this guy looks more like a tree frog to me. Anyone know for sure? Obviously, I'll have frogs near my pond and in it when I get it built, which I love!

View attachment 4716

OK, not sure it worked, but if it did, I'm going to also send a picture of the first daffodil in my yard, also this morning! Woohoo, spring is HERE!!!

View attachment 4717

Now, I'd better get off here and get myself to work!!! LOL

Patti

Attachments

• Tree Frog or Bullfrog.jpg
    Tree Frog or Bullfrog.jpg
    8.2 KB · Views: 523
  • First Daffodil of 2011.jpg
    First Daffodil of 2011.jpg
    5.9 KB · Views: 436
Reaction score
The markings on his back legs look like a bullfrog. But it is hard to tell without a few more pics. Usually if I remember right they have a lighter green under their chin. It's a good sign of Spring when you start seeing the frogs out. I hope they go back in to hiding with the cold snap we are going to have.
I knew we might have an early Spring 2 weeks ago. The 2 ducks that always try to use my yard as a nesting spot came back almost a month early. 2 many baby Koi at my place for a duck family.

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
poor duckies need to find a new home. I have heard my pond frogs croaking, but have not seen them

Reaction score