Trouble keeping pond plants alive

Reaction score
Country
New Zealand
Hi everyone, please be gentle with me, I'm a newbie. We recently setup quite a big pond, 15000ltrs, it has uv light and pond one filter, a circulating pump, and small water fall, we already had some lillies and lotus in a smaller concrete trough and since moving them into large pond have flowered happily, but anything else we put in seems to just die slowly. I have put fert tabs in them, I've altered water levels so they are not as deep, what else could I try to improve on. Thanks

Reaction score
Country
United States
Greetings, welcome to the Forums.

Tell us more.
What kind of plants were they? Is your pond full in full sun? Have you tested the water? Do you keep fish?

Reaction score
Country
New Zealand
Hiya, sorry yes I should have submitted abit more info
Ph is 8.8 this evening
Kh is 1
I don't have any other tests. Pond is 4mths old, we are in new zealand so we started it in full summer, and yes full sun, also is abit exposed to wind. We put no fish in purposely as we wanted to wait till it cycled but about 5 small goldfish somehow came over with some lillies we shifted, must have been caught up in leaves etc, they haven't been seen since as the pond immediately turned green, even though we have uv and a huge filter, but from reading articles, this is to be expected with new ponds in summer.
We brought lots of plants, some marginal and others deep water, but all seem to just go yellow and slowly get worse, never thrive, everyone tells me to add more plants to get pond to balance itself, but I'm seeing they aren't doing very well so no point in keep adding them to see them die, not to mention they also expensive!. Pond pickerel, grasses, water iris, black taro, others but I don't know the names. I'm wondering if I'm am placing the marginal to deep, I try to keep them half out of water, bog plants are outside the pond in their own wet area, otherwise it's just Lillies and lotus in deep-water.