True Newbie

Reaction score
I just moved into a new house with a hole in the ground they called a pond. I have no experience with ponds or fish so this is going to be a hard lesson I'm thinking. I've included a pic of the original condition of the pond, half full and green green. The pond has a drainage tube back feeding into a waterfall that flows back into the pond. I also saw a filter box that I've experimented with, switching the pump from the waterfall to the filter box. I can actually see the bottom after running the pump through the filter box. I was curious so I ran to Petsmart and bought about (10) $0.15 goldfish and put them in. Well, the next day I didn't see one! I heard ducks a few days earlier flying over, obviously doing some reconnaissance on my newly cherished pond. Glad to say, I saw some of those goldfish sneaking out from under some rocks a few days later. I regained my encouragement and was ecstatic when I found someone willing to sell me a few larger goldfish for $20 then got really excited when he said just come take them. I now know this May not have been the best thing, but needless to say I now have several fish. Glad to say the Petsmart fish came out and seem to be playing with their new friends. Really nice fan tails included. My goal as a new "father" is to get their habitat where it should be. I'm scouring these forum topics like a madman on a mission! I will continue to update the progress and welcome any advice. If anyone has recommendations for supplies I'm all ears. I'm in central California between Bakersfield and Fresno. I'd love to find a store that I can become a regular to. Any recommendations on aquatic plants is a high priority on my list.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    221.5 KB · Views: 265
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    144.5 KB · Views: 265
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    142.3 KB · Views: 312
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    213 KB · Views: 296
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    216.3 KB · Views: 271