Turtles for Pond?

Reaction score
Country
United States
HI All,
I have a 1,000 gal. pond with 8 mature fish and 5 babies (they are in their second season). Is it possible to keep a small turtle or tortoise in the pond? does anyone have any suggestions about the best kind for a pond environment? Also what would happen in the winter? Thanks for any suggestions

Reaction score
Country
United States
A turtle would be fine but not a tortoise as they are land reptiles. A lot will depend on your pond as turtles will bury themselves in mud, leaves, etc at the bottom of a natural pond during winter. I guess one could bring them inside for winter though as long as you have an aquarium of some form for them. I am no turtle expert but did have one when I was a child and really enjoyed raising it.

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
I have a friend up the road who has turtles and she brings them inside in the winter into her spare bathtub w/a special light set up. Easy to clean the water, just pull the plug and replace water when needed. Think she has about 7 red sliders fairly good sized.

JRS

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
5a
Country
United States
Depends on your climate, the pond and the type of turtle you have in mind. I keep my rescue red ear sliders outside in the summer but they are always hungry and will east most vegetation they can get at. Larger fish generally too nimble for them to get at. Escapes are another issue if you have natural sides to the pond. I bring them in for the winter.

Jhn

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7b
Country
United States