Turtles with Koi???

Karen

I'd rather be Fishin'
Reaction score
Just started/built our pond. Haven't added any fish to it yet...letting it run and filter right now. My kids want to add those small turltes "painted or slider turtles". Can you have Koi and small Turtles in a pond???

mew5280

Mary, Denver, CO
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Zone 5, Denver CO, -10 to -15
Country
United States
I'm not an expert, but I had a turtle and koi together just fine. Just one turtle and one koi at the time. And I have a small pond, 600 gallons.

Reaction score
Many people say it can be done, and probably so if you have small turtles and big enough fish, but do keep in mind turtles are predators and will eat smaller fish. Here is a video that shows why I would think twice: warning, not pretty scenes for fish lovers:

[ame]

Reaction score
I want to put a turtle in my pond also. The majority of what I have read leads me not to do it. I've read the turtles might hurt or kill the fish. Also, the turtles will probably just wander off some day.

fishin4cars

True friends just call me Larkin
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
We tried it, must have put 10-12 baby turtles in the pond over the years. Sliders, soft shells, painted, and Musk Every one ended up wandering off. The one that stayed the longest was a musk turtle, he wondered up on his own and got in the pond and stayed for a couple of years. he was cool, got so tame he would come up and eat out of your hand. When we re-did the pond I moved it to the small pond, Guess he didn't like that one as he only stayed in there for a few days and then we never saw it again. Starting small they seem to be fine if you can keep them there but as they grow their instincts are going to drive them to hunting for food. It's natural instinct, question is can you handle if he finds and catches one for a late afternoon snack.

hewhoisatpeace

Evil Genius
Reaction score