UGH!! Waterfall Foam!

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi Gang!

So, I've become officially obsessed with my little pond (Some of you told me that would happen!) I look at it before I go to bed and run outside first thing in the AM to see what it's doing - like it's going to change much in 8 hours, right?? Anyway, I'm a total newbie and haven't a CLUE to what I'm doing, so when I got a watercourse it became a much bigger deal than just a simple little 50+ gallon pond. NOW, I had to figure out how to make a waterfall on a teeny tiny wall (no taller than 20"). I decided to use waterfall foam to make small rocks stick together since the surface area wasn't large enough for proper stacking. I've watched lots of youtube DIY vids on how to use dirt, sand, and smaller pebbles to fill in large voids but my small space didn't have that much room. And being a total newbie, I ended up overusing the foam and it seeped out all over the place! Also, I didn't know how to work the foam after it hardened a bit so you could hide it better. I figure, once it's actually painted, it will look a little better too. I've attached a pic of how the waterfall looks as of today.
Here's my issue: the can says to paint or stain any exposed foam - well, there's a LOT of exposed foam, which means that once painted, the water will fall over the painted surfaces and back into my pond. My concern is what it will do to my fish and frog. I called the foam company (Total Pond) and they said to use ANY outdoor non-toxic paint.
Does ANYONE have any advice on what paint to use or on exposed waterfall foam?There are so many "outdoor" paints but many of them say not to use in ponds or fountains. I'm at a loss - I was hoping this project would be DONE by now.....
Thanks,Gang!
20170725_145031.jpg

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States