Underliner question

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi all, newbie here. I skimmed through previous posts trying to answer as many of my questions before having to ask them. With that being said I have just one (for now ). My site is dug and I'm ordering the liner and pump shortly. My question regarding the underliner; I'm using old carpet, is it recommended to keep the carpet intact in one piece, or can I cut it into sections to fit better? Thanks, John

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
One piece> Any overlap left unsealed allows for root intrusion.
I never thought about that.....but I thought the underlayment was more for protecting the liner against rocks and other hard objects. If roots want to get through an underlayment, they can force through. But a lot of people do piece theirs.

Meyer Jordan

Tadpole
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
I never thought about that.....but I thought the underlayment was more for protecting the liner against rocks and other hard objects. If roots want to get through an underlayment, they can force through. But a lot of people do piece theirs.

I have never seen root penetration in commercial underlayment (6 oz non-woven geotexrile).
In larger ponds, underlayment also serves the purpose of allowing the venting of soil gases.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
I've torn used carpeting out of three different houses - I can't even imagine wanting to use it again for anything! Although maybe people are finding carpeting that is gently used... the stuff we've dealt with has been pretty disgusting! That's what made me decide that I would never have wall to wall carpeting in a house again!

MoonShadows

The Jam Man
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United States
welcome-wagon.gif

We'd love to see pics as you progress, John.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States