unexplained goldfish deaths

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
we have a preformed garden pond,no filtration,i am a complete novice at keeping fish but we decided last week to buy two small goldfish.prior to this the pond has a solar powered water lilly on it and 2 real water lillies.both goldfish died today.we emptied the pond,cleaned it thourghly refilled it then went and bought 3 goldfish.kept them in the plastic bag in the pond before releasing them now 4 hours later they are all dead,very upsetting can anyone suggest a solution before any more die?

Meyer Jordan

Tadpole
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
Have you tested the water parameters, especially temperature?
Have you added anything to the water recently..pesticide/herbicide?

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States
Did you de-chlorinate the water? what water did you use to fill the pond? Did you make sure to float the fish to get the temperature of the fish in the bag and the pond to match (or close)?

You will need a filtration.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a ish!
Country
United Kingdom
How big is the pond, how big were the fish? The temps here in the UK have been the highest so far this year.. Temp in direct sun at my place was 37C yesterday. Has the pond got any shade for the fish to hide, do the water lilies cover the recommended half of the surface? Water temps must have risen considerably, warm water holds less oxygen than cool/cold water....have you any means of aeration?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Did you de-chlorinate the water? what water did you use to fill the pond? Did you make sure to float the fish to get the temperature of the fish in the bag and the pond to match (or close)?

You will need a filtration.
no i did not dechlorinate the water,but i made sure the temperatures matched before releasing the fish,filtration will be a big problem for us unless its non electric

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom